Devin Townsend has just announced the release of his new album Empath. Venturing off from the Devin Townsend Project, Empath will be the musician’s first solo release since 2014’s Z2: Dark Matters.

Leading up to the album’s March 29 release, Townsend will share how Empath came together in a series of documentary episodes. “Hello everybody, this is Devin Townsend and I would like to formally announce that after almost a year and a half of working, I have finished Empath,” the musician says in Episode One (seen below).

“Now this record has taken me down a lot of very interesting psychological and technical avenues and the process was documented from the very get-go by a series of documentary videos that I have done, that outline everything from the gestation of the idea to the actualization of it, through all the existential ups and downs that went on. As such this record is different to any record that I have released thus far, and trying to get people on board for what it is versus what it isn’t, I think needs to be dealt with in a different way. Stay tuned for the making of Empath – the video series.”

Empath is packed with guest musicians including Morgan Ågren (Mats And Morgan, Frank Zappa, Fredrik Thordendal), Anup Sastry (Monuments, Periphery), Samus Paulicelli (Decrepit Birth, Abigail Williams), Nathan Navarro, Elliot Desagnes, Steve Vai, Chad Kroeger, Anneke Van Giersbergen, Ché Aimee Dorval, Ryan Dhale and the Elektra Women’s Choir. Frank Zappa alumni Mike Keneally was also recruited as music director.

Check out the track listing and album art for Empath below.


3.Spirits Will Collide
6.Hear Me
10.Singularity Part 1 – Adrift
11.Singularity Part 2 – I Am I
12.Singularity Part 3 – There Be Monsters
13.Singularity Part 4 – Curious Gods
14.Singularity Part 5 – Silicon Scientists
15.Singularity Part 6 – Here Comes The Sun

2019’s Most Anticipated Hard Rock + Metal Albums

More From 96.5 KNRX