Voters will have an opportunity to hear from San Angelo City Council and mayoral candidates at a forum on Saturday, April 22nd, at the McNease Convention Center.

Zoonar RF

Candidates for City Council Districts 1, 4 and 6 will participate in a forum from 10 a.m.-11 a.m. Saturday, April 22, at the Convention Center, 501 Rio Concho Drive. Mayoral candidates will be featured from 11 a.m.-noon.

The public forums are organized by the San Angelo Standard-Times. The event will be broadcast live on SATV (Suddenlink channel 117), on and on the City of San Angelo-Public Information Facebook page. The forum will re-air daily on SATV and will be posted on the City of San Angelo YouTube channel.

Citizens may submit questions for the forum by:

  • Submitting them in writing at the forum.
  • Posting them on the Facebook page.
  • Tweeting them with the hashtag #SAElex and/or @gosanangelo.
  • Emailing them to
  • By calling Standard-Times Editor Mike Kelly at 325-659-8249.
  • By mailing them to 34 W. Harris Ave., San Angelo, TX 76903, ATTN: Mike Kelly.

On May 6, voters in City Council Districts 2, 4 and 6 will elect representatives to serve four-year terms. Voters citywide will elect a mayor to serve a four-year term. District 1 voters will elect a representative to fill the remaining two years of an unexpired term. The candidates are:

  • Mayor: Brenda Gunter, Charlotte Farmer, Zach Taylor, Tony Villarreal.
  • District 1: Bill Richardson, Darrin Fentress Tommy Hiebert, Anna Bartosh.
  • District 2: Tom Thompson.
  • District 4: Chris Giroux, Lucy Gonzales.
  • District 6: Rebekah Coffman, Billie F. Dewitt, Steve Hampton.

A map of the City Council districts is posted at Determining which district one lives in can be determined by clicking the GIS map viewer on the same page.

Early voting will be 8 a.m.-5 p.m. April 24-28 and 7 a.m.-7 p.m. May 1-2 in the Tom Green County Elections Office. Voters will have a choice of voting by paper or electronic ballot during early voting.

On Election Day, only electronic ballots will be available. Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Saturday, May 6. Voters may cast ballots that day at any of 18 locations, which can be found at, along with other election information.

More From 96.5 KNRX