The dark and dreamy electro-pop act ††† (Crosses), Deftones singer Chino Moreno's project with founding Far guitarist Shaun Lopez, released two new songs on Friday (March 18).

They comprise a double A-side single of both cuts, "Initiation" and "Protection.” It is the group's first original material in eight years. The tracks continue the outfit's ominous brand of atmospheric trip-hop. A music video for "Initiation" is also available. The band began teasing the tunes online earlier this week.

Listen to the songs near the bottom of this post.

Last year, ††† inked a deal with Warner Records. Simultaneously, they released a cover of the 1988 song "Goodbye Horses" by obscure singer Q Lazzarus.

†††'s album Crosses arrived in 2014 after the group issued three successive EPs. Six years later, ††† returned in December 2020 with "The Beginning of the End," a cover of '90s synth-poppers Cause and Effect that marked †††'s first new material overall since their debut. With "Initiation" and "Protection," new original ††† tunes have now joined the fold. (EP † and EP †† emerged in 2011 and 2012; EP ††† in 2014.)

In Deftones news, the alt-metal act recently parted with bassist Sergio Vega, also of Quicksand. Deftones' rescheduled 2020 tour starts next month.

NEW MUSIC PLAYLIST: Keep up with each week's new songs by liking Loudwire's "Weekly Wire" Spotify playlist, updated every Friday with 50 new tracks.

††† (Crosses), "Initiation" (Music Video)

††† (Crosses), "Protection" (Visualizer)

16 Things Metalheads Really Need to Get Over

Get over it! Here are 16 things that metalheads really should get over.

More From 96.5 KNRX